JCM 800 Plexi 2204 build Low Volume

Marshall Amp Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Varginator

JCM 800 Plexi 2204 build Low Volume

Post by Varginator »

This is my second build ever and at no point do I claim that I know what I'm doing. That being said I was able to wire everything up and the amp fired up. When I turned the volume up I noticed that it is not loud at all. I found a few forums stating the capacitor at V3 should be 470 ohms. I put in a 47pf capacitor like the diagram states. Any help would be great.

My first build I had to bring to a guy that works on amps to get it to work. If I cant figure this out I will do the same thing.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cbass

Re: JCM 800 Plexi 2204 build Low Volume

Post by cbass »

470 ohms would be resistance. I'm not a pro but as far as I know that 47pf cap is there to bleed of high frequency. So a larger value cap would bleed off more lower frequencys

Someone should be along soon that knows a lot more than I.
Varginator

Post by Varginator »

I Did try to switch it out but it actually lowered the volume so that makes sense. Any help would be great! I know I'm close just defiantly a novice, but I enjoy the challenge!
cbass

Post by cbass »

470 ohms is not a measurement for a capacitor.
Ohms is the measurement used for resistors. So im confused when you say a 470 ohm capacitor.
Varginator

Post by Varginator »

Like I said it was a suggestion I saw on another forum which was bad information. If I removed the capacitor completely would that increase the volume?
cdemike

Post by cdemike »

These might help narrow down the cause of the issue:
-How low is the volume? Still loud enough to play over a drummer, or little 1W amp loud?