The Amp Garage Forum Index The Amp Garage
A tube amp builder's community
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hughes & Kettner Switchblade

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Amp Garage Forum Index -> Technical Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
slim reefer



Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Hughes & Kettner Switchblade Reply with quote

Hi all. Newbie here. I bought a H&K Switchblade 100 head a few months ago that I am running through a Marshall 4x12 cab. Last week I bought 2 new speaker cables with the idea of switching the cab to stereo (2x8ohms) and connecting to the head. My problem is that the amp does not clearly indicate two 8 ohm outputs. These are the outputs on the amp.

One 4 Ohm output

Two outputs marked "1x8 or 2x16 Ohms"

One 16 Ohm output

Up until now I have been running the cab on 16 ohms in mono. If I want to try the stereo version with 2 cables would the two outputs marked "1x8 or 2x16 Ohms" be the correct outputs to use? Thanks for any help/info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cliff Schecht



Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 2599
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah if both cabs are 16 Ohms then the using the "2x16" ports will place the two 16 Ohm cabs in parallel for 8 Ohms.

FWIW I was pretty damn impressed with the Switchblade when I played one ages ago. Lots of tones and options for not too much money.

_________________
Cliff Schecht - Circuit P.I.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
slim reefer



Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to be clear. I am using one 4x12 cab. Is it possible to run one cab in stereo with 2 cables from the amp? Love my Switchblade! Very versatile amp. Very loud as well. Will most likely pull two of the tubes and run it at 50 watts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selloutrr



Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 3705
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NO...

one amp (mono) the switchblade is not a stereo amp. into two cabinets = dual mono.

when you pull 2 tubes your ohm load will change.

you can run a stereo cab chained together off of one amp but you gain no benefit.

If I understand correctly your 2x8 means you have a left side and a right side = 8ohms each that will give you a 16ohm load you don't have an out on the amp that allows this. you will be cutting the load and potentionally harming the amp.

The markings on the amps speaker jacks i.e. 2x16 would allow the confirguration of a full stack in the event the cabinet used does not offer a through jack.

again your amp is not stereo - you can not run two cabinets off of one power source and make it stereo.

_________________
My Daughter Build Stone Henge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slim reefer



Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!! I have been puzzled for days whether it would work or not. Read the manual and been searching for info as well. I didn`t realize that if I remove 2 tubes that it would alter the ohms!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
selloutrr



Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 3705
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It cuts the Impedance in half. If you pull 2 tubes and are running an 8 ohm cabinet you need to set the impedance selector to 4 ohms. 8 ohms for a 16 ohm cabinet.

Make sure you pull a "pair" of tubes

You pull either the outer 2 tubes or the inner 2 tubes, never 2 from one side.

_________________
My Daughter Build Stone Henge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billdawg38730



Joined: 25 Aug 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:08 pm    Post subject: H&K,, Reply with quote

Hey the H&k amp as I have one myself,,has a hook up for stereo at 8 and then mona at 16 ohms,,,which will be all four speakers,,just plug in the stereo port on the back of the head
_________________
Old Rocker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Amp Garage Forum Index -> Technical Discussion All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group