D'Lite Versions

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

titanicslim

D'Lite Versions

Post by titanicslim »

Hi, Gang!

Hey, I've been trying to get myself up-to-date and I've run into some confusion that maybe someone can help me out with.

Concerns the variations in the Dumble'Lite layouts I'm seeing.

http://bad-domain/DumbleLite/DumbleLite16x8Layout.JPG
and
http://bad-domain/DumbleLite/D-Lite%20Layout.jpg
also
http://bad-domain/DumbleLite/DumbleLite16x8Layout3.JPG

I made a couple of prints from the beautiful layouts I've found in the Files section and when I blew them up there were some variations, specifically in the droppers, but I'm just getting started putting together materials for a build.

Are these just personal tastes or has one superseded another?

Thanks
Dave
The denunciation of the young is a necessary part of the hygiene of older people, and greatly assists in the circulation of the blood. - Logan Pearsall Smith (1865 - 1946)
Structo

Re: D'Lite Versions

Post by Structo »

Well Normster of course was the one that prototyped the D'Lite amp that Brown Note is now making.

It went through several iterations before it was offered as a production amp.

The D'Lite20% one I believe was the final version.

The other two are earlier works, notice the 250K mid pot and the different mid caps. More of the Skyline tone stack.

The mid cap also known as the Strat cap seems to sound better at .05uf with a strat and at .01uf with humbuckers.

As far as the dropping string, I think that changed with what power transformer was used.

These can be adjusted for the desirable voltages on V1,V2 and V3.

There is a Tweaked Version that incorporates most of the suggestions from this forum.

I have a 6L6 D'Lite that I have most of these mods on and it sounds great!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

Don't let that smoke out!