college extracurricular activity

Overdrive Special, Steel String Singer, Dumbleland, Odyssey, Winterland, etc. -
Members Only

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

TeeGee

college extracurricular activity

Post by TeeGee »

Hi All!

I am attending technical college. My dean heavily encourages going above and beyond the curriculum and supports efforts to those ends. I am studying electronics and, sadly, computers as well. I would rather be poor than have anything to do with computers so I am focusing the electronics.

I wish to attempt to build a Dumble style amplifier for my project. I am not looking to reinvent the wheel or start an amp company. I hope to present a fully functional amp for my project. I will take this amp to job interviews along with written and photographic/video documentation of the build. I am hoping to work doing musical instrument repair and there are a few places near enough to me to make this become a reality.

To that end I need to purchase a chassis and all of the necessary parts to do this. I will also need a known good schematic of the Dumble circuit. The amp I wish to build is an Overdrive Special. I want to do an older version without the additional eq section from the later amps. I hope I have stated this correctly as I a really quite ignorant of the whole Dumble phenomena.

Any assistance would be greatly appeciated. Again I do not really know anything about tube amps or Dumbles. I am not looking for discouraging advice to build something simpler. I am a pretty intelligent guy and wish to attempt an ODS. What I am really looking for is validated parts list and a source for them. A chassis source and transformer source as well.

Thank you very much for your time and consideration in this matter.
Structo

Re: college extracurricular activity

Post by Structo »

So you would rather scratch build this verses build one from a kit?

That's a pretty ambitious first build.

Are wanting the 100 watt or 50 watt ODS?