Marshall 50 JMP Hum - Heater Filament Pot Candidate?

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

hazy

Marshall 50 JMP Hum - Heater Filament Pot Candidate?

Post by hazy »

1st off - I'm a newbie to the forum and just found you guys with a Google of my problem.

My Marsall 50 JMP (4-hole, 1987 schematic model) has a 60-cycle hum that won't die. I figure 60-cycle because I downloaded an audio of 60-cycle and that's it.

I read the thread here where the final solution was to put a 100 ohm pot between the heater filaments and it fixed the hum. Thread: http://ampgarage.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... =cycle+hum

Here's what I've done:

Removing PI & V2 pre-amp tubes kills the hum
Replaced filter caps
Check lead dress
Repositioned heater wires
Cleaned/retensioned all tube sockets
Re-tubes all pre-amp and power tubes

The hum will not go away. It just showed up and I can't find it - and I've worked on Bassman, Bandmaster amd Marshall JMPs for years. Would the 100 ohm pot work here (possibly)? Help!
Merlinb

Re: Marshall 50 JMP Hum - Heater Filament Pot Candidate?

Post by Merlinb »

hazy wrote: The hum will not go away. It just showed up and I can't find it - and I've worked on Bassman, Bandmaster amd Marshall JMPs for years. Would the 100 ohm pot work here (possibly)? Help!
Dude, it's a 100 ohm trim pot! It would be quicker to try the thing out than to wait for "maybe" answers on some internet forum.

Also, you can use any value from 100 ohms to 1k. (I prefer to use 500 ohms since some trim pots are only rated for 200mW or so). Make sure you disconnect the existing heater centre tap/ground reference first.
hazy

Post by hazy »

Merlinb wrote: Dude, it's a 100 ohm trim pot! It would be quicker to try the thing out than to wait for "maybe" answers on some internet forum.