Packard Bell PA-20

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Waxxer69

Packard Bell PA-20

Post by Waxxer69 »

Hello,
I'm a complete novice here although I do have a little electrical knowledge. I recently acquired a Packard Bell PA-20 amplifier that I'd like to use as a guitar amp. The amp works fine now and sounds great, but as it was made NOT to distort it creates a little problem in the guitar amp application. I've had some electronics techs at work say I replace certain resistors with pots and I'd get distortion, but I'm sure it can't be that simple. I'm also not interested in frying myself or this amp. Can I add a distortion circuit somewhere in this amp? And if so where?

btw, this is a great forum and I hope to eventually build an amp rather than modifying an existing one.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ampgeek

Re: Packard Bell PA-20

Post by ampgeek »

Welcome Waxx!

Very cool amp you have there! Some thoughts on how I would approach it would include:

Build a lightbulb limiter before plugging it in (unless you already know it is OK). Old electrolytic caps don't last forever

Convert the mono input into a guitar jack.

Swap out V1 for a 12AX7

Fire it up, plug in an axe and see what it sounds like.

That will provide grist for mill on what to do next. You might consider diode or mosfet clippers to add some dirt. And, yes, dinking around with resistors and caps can get you over the top on distortion. But...I always like to sneak up on it to avoid missing a sweat spot along the way.

http://www.muzique.com/lab/zenmos.htm

Good luck!

Dave O.
menger66

Post by menger66 »

Looks like an excellent amp to covert to something for guitar, if it's got a decent sized output transformer you could try a 18watt marshall or matchless spitfire, modding it first to something useable too get your feet wet then maybe plan a total rebuild, good luck mark
Phil_S

Post by Phil_S »