Whats your opinion on CTS pots?

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

lespaulplayer

Whats your opinion on CTS pots?

Post by lespaulplayer »

So I just got my kit in the mail for my JTM 45 build. This is my first build. All the pots are Alpha except for all of the 1 Meg pots they gave me are CTS. I'm thinking of ordering some Alpha 1Meg pots instead of using the CTS. I think I would honestly prefer them to be all Alpha pots in this build. Do you think I'm over analyzing? I've used some CTS pots in guitars before, but honestly they seem cheaper to me than the Alpha ones are, and the ones in my guitars have crapped out on me before.
M Fowler

Re: Whats your opinion on CTS pots?

Post by M Fowler »

My opinion is CTS is better to me but you like Alpha so you should get the Alpha's.

Mojotone has Alpha and CTS made in 3/8" thread and length to fit nicely when using faceplates that extra threading comes in handy.

Steve S. from Apexjr also sells Bourns pots in the same size so depending on what I have on hand I may have three different brand pots in my amps.
iknowjohnny

Post by iknowjohnny »

IMO (tho i feel it's more fact than just MO) CTS are far better quality than alpha. Alphas to me are the worse of the lot as far as standard size/style pots go. Bourns are better. CTS is 5 times as good as either of them IMO. I would say toss the alphas and get all CTS if you are really serious about this build.

When i first started building i found alphas would not withstand more than several solderings, which i always did a lot during the experimentation stage. Bourns fared about twice as good, and CTS....well, i know i must have abused a few to the point they went bad, but to be honest i don't recall any.
cbass

Post by cbass »

I've not really had in problems with alphas functionaly but the CTS have a better feel and are definitely more robust
xtian

Post by xtian »