Heyboer PT problems...

General discussion area for tube amps.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

Blacktweedplexiface

Heyboer PT problems...

Post by Blacktweedplexiface »

I have a new Heyboer 330-0-330 PT that is shorting my high voltage through the 5v filament when rectifier tube is installed. Anyone ever have bad luck like this? I'm fairly new to building amps, but I work in control circuitry and have never had any issues with any other amp builds. My first thought was maybe this transformer had a center tapped 5v winding, but I still get continuity to ground with all center taps lifted. (The orange shield tap had me wondering). I guess I'll send the Transformer back. To bad I ruined a couple 5y3s before I figured it out...
sluckey

Re: Heyboer PT problems...

Post by sluckey »

Does this issue only occur when the 5Y3 is plugged in? If so, the PT is not likely the problem. If the 5v winding has a center tap just tape it off and don't connect it to anything.
but I still get continuity to ground with all center taps lifted
Continuity to ground from what? Is this continuity zero ohms or some other ohm reading.
Blacktweedplexiface

sluckey wrote: Wed Oct 28, 2020 6:49 am Does this issue only occur when the 5Y3 is plugged in? If so, the PT is not likely the problem. If the 5v winding has a center tap just tape it off and don't connect it to anything.
but I still get continuity to ground with all center taps lifted
Continuity to ground from what? Is this continuity zero ohms or some other ohm reading.
Yes, the high dc voltage only shorts with the rectifier tube plugged in. There is no 5v center tap. The continuity is from the 5v secondary. 0.5 ohms. Almost acting as if there is a grounded center tap. The 5v secondary should read infinity ohms to ground, no?
sluckey

Post by sluckey »

The 5v secondary should read infinity ohms to ground, no?