Delayed swell with standby on Rocket

Express, Liverpool, Rocket, Dirty Little Monster, etc.

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

sonicmojo

Delayed swell with standby on Rocket

Post by sonicmojo »

I'm new to playing around with the Trainwreck circuit. I just acquired a Rocket clone on trade and I'm working through tuning it up. When I turn standby off on the amp, it takes about 4-5 seconds for the amp to reach full volume. This is after the heaters are definitely warmed up. If I turn standby back on/off for anything more than 2 seconds, it acts the same way again. I'm assuming this is not how the Rocket circuit should work since I've not experienced this on other amps but figured I'd ask for advice before doing anything major. It has PT, OT, and choke from an old Baldwin. I've swapped tubes and done some checks on the filter caps and I don't think those are part of the reason. I feel like some component in the amp is struggling when high voltage is hitting it.

Thanks!
---------
Bryan
xtian

Re: Delayed swell with standby on Rocket

Post by xtian »

If the standby switch comes before the reservoir cap(s), AND the reservoir cap(s) have bleeder resistor(s), that could explain what you're experiencing.
I build and repair tube amps. http://amps.monkeymatic.com
sonicmojo

Post by sonicmojo »

xtian wrote:If the standby switch comes before the reservoir cap(s), AND the reservoir cap(s) have bleeder resistor(s), that could explain what you're experiencing.
The 80uF (40x2) caps are before the standby switch and there are no resistors on them. They are holding a charge (400V standby on, 335 standby off).
---------
Bryan
sonicmojo

Mostly fixed!

Post by sonicmojo »