63 AC30 melty PT

Vox and Hiwatt Discussion

Moderators: pompeiisneaks, Colossal

gtomax

63 AC30 melty PT

Post by gtomax »

My 63 AC30T has all original parts, transformers etc. I'm going to go in and give it a recap and noticed (also smelled) that the wax in the PT has repeatedly melted/rehardened during its life. Not unusual as I understand it but not comforting.

What is the consensus on removing it for storage/originality and replacing it for regular use with a repro PT?

I find myself using the amp less because when it warms up the smell of it slowly cooking the glue/wax makes me nervous.
pompeiisneaks
Site Admin

Re: 63 AC30 melty PT

Post by pompeiisneaks »

I'm no expert on this, so I'm going to say wait for a better confirmation.

I think when older amps warm up, the smell is often the combination of say the wax and the dust that's built up. It's likely not a problem at all.

From everything I understand they don't make transformers like they used to, so likely you'll get tonal changes if you swap out the transformer, but your call. If you're worried about potentially harming it, I'd instead make sure to give it a complete once over everywhere to ensure all components are good, or if you don't know how to do that, take it to a tech to make sure it's safe.

I just want to be sure I'm not the one responsible for you destroying your priceless amp, so don't count me 100% right on this.... :)

~Phil
tUber Nerd!
Colossal

Post by Colossal »